Holographic Projector Activation and Toon Boom

Here’s the video of my last completed scene.

As you can see, I’m using the music temp track as a way to time and choreograph the various elements in the scene. I can’t stress enough how important music and sounds are for me when it comes to doing animation. I get a lot of inspiration from it. The trick is to make sure that I select the right musical piece to go with the visual. That’s why I spend hours listening to potential music until I hit one that brings out the imagery of the film in my head. This time, I feel so right about my musical selection that I have gone ahead and bought a license for those pieces just in case I decide to keep them in the final film. We’ll see what happens there.

The next video, shows how I set up the scene in Toon Boom. I’m not going into great detail, but it will give you a good overview of how things are put together. There are so many elements in this scene that it’s quite a headache making sure everything is working in unison, and the only way to make sure is to do a final render, which takes about one hour for this particular scene. One little change and I have to render the whole scene over again. Since I’m never completely happy with my work and keep tinkering with details, that process can be frustrating at times, but at least it’s a lot better than in the old days when a re-shoot would take up an entire day and cost thousands of dollars.

Finally, here below is a screenshot of the node architecture of this scene. Toon Boom is a node-based system where each node represents either an element of the scene or a modificator. The light blue nodes are associated with animation levels, the dark blue with filters and compositing, the light green is for the camera, the white one for output information, and the dark green nodes represent pegs, which I use to create camera moves. Looking at the module library, I can see that I haven’t even scratched the surface of what’s possible with the software but I sure look foward to continue my exploration.
nodes

3 thoughts on “Holographic Projector Activation and Toon Boom

  1. This scene looks really great Michel. Its great to see it all coming together. The Electrical FX are brilliant, so fluid 🙂 looking forward to the next post.

Leave a Reply

