Rex Meets Aven Pencil Test

After a month of hard work, I’m finally done with the character pencil animation and tones for the current scene I’m doing.

I’m a little shocked how long it took to do this―I was expecting to be quicker. Actually, the animation was done in about four days. It’s when I started doing the inbetweens that production really slowed down to a crawl and the long hours started piling in. I literally spent over three weeks doing inbetweens. I’m not sure that doing the scene, the way I did, is the best use of my time. I need to figure out ways of speeding up that process. Here’s a little breakdown to give you an idea:

Rex is in the scene for 406 frames and Aven for 294 frames. That’s 700 frames of character animation. Each character is a mix of 1’s and 2’s (number of drawing per frames), so rougly, the total count is 500 drawings. If each drawing requires around 20 minutes do do, you can see how crazy this gets. Not only that, but for each of these drawings, I must draw an additional tone matte layer which represents the area of shading.

Rex_Aven_Pencil
Now that the character pencil is done, I need to:

● Paint each drawing and tone matte. I’ll also be adding the eyeblinks at that stage.
● Animate a shadow under the Blossom (blue ball) and Aven.
● Add the electrical effects in Rex’s bubble.
● Animate (hand drawn frame by frame on 1’s) the transformation special effects from Blossom to Aven (place holder animation currently there).
● Animate and choregraphed background bubbles and trails (They all start taking off towards the right).
● Composite all these elements (this is where I make everything blend seemlessly together).

I’m hoping to get all this wrapped within a week. Let’s see how well I do.

6 thoughts on “Rex Meets Aven Pencil Test

  1. The biggest frustration I had with ToonBoom software was when I needed to insert a single frame or delete a frame. I remember the software wanting to fill up that empty space with either the previous drawing or the one after it. It wasn’t a simple task like it is in Flash.
    With Flash, I can just draw ahead on ones, and if I need to insert a few frames, I just hit F5 however many times I need until I’m happy with the timing. But ToonBoom feels like you need to plan it all out exactly before starting.
    Do you have that feeling with your workflow?

    • I agree with this. It constantly wants to expand the exposure. This becomes even more of a drag when you , say, expand an entire section with F5 and it suddenly plops in an exposure of something that you turned off. Then you have to hunt it down and turn it back off again.

      That said the animation looks great, Michele. You can see the hard work going on in there and I think I pays off.

  2. I hear you about the time, and with a pencil, 20 minutes a clean-up inbetween is a good speed for feature. However, this is a critical moment when Rex and Aven first see each other and the emotion you show with full animation will pay off. I really connect with Rex’s emotions of surprise and even worry about seeing himself mirrored in Aven. Every sequence needs a “money shot” that carries the story and sticks in the minds of the viewer. Maybe this is it.

Leave a Reply

