Inbetweening Madness

As I mentioned last week, I’m writing a short progress report to let everyone know where I’m at with the current scene.

One thing that I’m reminded here, is how long it takes to do inbetweens. At 460 frames and featuring two handdrawn/animated characters, the scene is just a massive amount of work. I’ve already been on this for over two weeks and based on my current pace, it looks like I still have over 120 hours of inbetweening time left to put in. If I had to plan the scene over again, I would have approached it in a totally different way, using vector tools and automated inbetweening, in combination with hand drawn inbetweens. I guess I wanted to see what was feasible using a no short cut approach, but the reality is that if I try to do the film the way I’m doing this scene, I’ll never get it done. It’s too late to back down and redesign the scene at this point, but it will sure be a test of will to get it done. To give you an idea of my inbetweening process, I did a video capture. This inbetween took about 23 minutes to do, but through the magic of time lapse, you can view the process in less than four.

A big thank you to all those who offered a hand in helping. It is important for me to do the whole thing myself so that I can evaluate how long it will take me to do the 4-minute film singlehandedly. It will force me to devise tricks to speed up my process and will also help me budget and plan better for when I take the film to the next level. I’ll be back next week for another progress report.

7 thoughts on “Inbetweening Madness

  1. I see you shifting your drawings now and again. It appears that you are inbetweening, but then you zoom out and shift? After the inbetween is done, you then kill off some key frames? I’d like to hear more about your clean up/inbetweening process if you ever get time! Have you tried the Shift and Trace function in Harmony? I’ve played with it only a tad.

    • Looking forward to the “shift off pegs” inbetweening tutorial . I notice that your ToonBoom workspace is in Timeline mode . Do you use it in X-sheet mode ? Is there any advantage to the X-sheet view vs. the Timeline view ?

      • I never work in the x-sheet mode. I’d rather work with a timeline than a traditional X-Sheet. In the old days, the vertical X-Sheet made sense, but with this new technology, I don’t see the point anymore.

  2. YES! Michele, I’d love to see that.
    Two things I take away from this particularly:
    1) Toonboom has no ‘rotate canvas’? That sucks! I suppose with enough practice I’d get used to it… you obviously have.
    2) I’m surprised at how ‘rough’ the line work appears. I assumed each line would be a study in incredible fluidity and masterfully gain from thin to thick and back again. These appear almost sketchy. Very cool, gives me hope that I might actually be able to do this one day.
    Glad to see your stick-to-itiveness!!

  3. In the midst of working on the inbetweening (ON 1’s especially !) it does seem like “madness” , but then when the scene is finished — It’s MAGIC. There’s something so alive and charming about classical hand drawn . I’m loving what I’m seeing here. Keep going.

Leave a Reply

