Alien Cargo – Finishing the Scene

So now that I have animated all the various characters using the Puppet Tool in After Effects, I render all of them as PNG Image Sequences and import them all in Toon Boom Harmony. Then, I composite each one with its own electrical bubble, and work out a seperate motion path for each group. I also add final touches like sparkles and eye blinks, and a panning background (see video).

Once I’m happy with the way everything looks, I render the scene at 1920 x 1080 using Cineform Go Pro codec. The Cineform codec allows me to work at high resolution and maintain a very high image quality, while keeping the files to a manageable size. It is also gives you the ability to play the HD scenes in real-time within Adobe Premiere. You can find out more about Cineform here.

Once the scene is rendered, I bring it in Adobe Premiere and create a slow fade at the start to make it flow with the previous scene. I also add a vignette on top of the image. The vignette is a transparent PNG file, with slight shading on the edges, that covers the whole image. It is composited at the editing stage. Here’s a before and after example of the vignette:

Vignette
Here is the final rendered scene (with sound), in context with the previous scene, so you can see the transition.

6 thoughts on “Alien Cargo – Finishing the Scene

  1. Mes professeurs d’animation me conseillent de ne faire que des exportation de séquences en .tif dans toute la pipeline de production (de ToonBoom, en passant par AE, jusqu’à Adobe Première) afin de conserver une qualité maximale. (en fullHD), mais je me rends compte que c’est peut être un peu abusé; je suppose que le codec Cineform Go Pro garde suffisamment de qualité.

    Y’a t’il un intérêt particulier à travailler en vidéos (légèrement) compréssées plutôt qu’en séquences d’images ? Est-ce *seulement* pour avoir du temps réel ?

    (j’avoue manquer de termes pour traduire tout ça en anglais, j’ai bien envie de me faire comprendre ^^, mais une réponse en anglais me convient tout à fait)

    • Everyone has its own pipeline model. I’ve experimented with Tiffs, Quicktime Animation (Lossless), and Cineform Go Pro (Nearly Lossless), and I found that Cineform gives me the best flexibility. It’s important for me to be able to work with movie clips at the editing stage because I do a lot of my timing refinement there. I want to see what I’m working with. Cineform allows me to edit and view in real time and the end result in the final render is perfect to my eyes. Saving everything as Tiffs sequences would also be extremely heavy in terms of memory space.

Leave a Reply

